Chiesa di San Domenico
Open on the occasion of Casale Città Aperta, the second Sunday of the month and the preceding Saturday. The building of the church and convent of San Domenico started in 1472 at the behest of the Marquis Guglielmo VIII Paleologo and lasted for more than 30 years. Consecrated in 1513 the church was enlarged and partly altered (specifically in the area of the apse) in 1745. The Lombard-style brick facade is divided into three sections by buttresses and crowned by a series of crossed arches. The portal, framed by architraved pilasters and surmounted by a zodiac rose window, dates from 1505. Inside, there are three naves divided by cruciform pillars and cross vaults; the holy water fonts on columns with finely decorated capitals date from the beginning of the 1500s. The church is home to several important works of art including the exquisite paintings of Pietro Francesco Guala: The Defeat of the Albigensians (1724) and two large canvases depicting The Miracles of San Domenico (1753-54). Access to the cloister, the only one remaining of the two original cloisters, is from the right-hand side of the church, with a large columned loggia in tuff and a 15th century room with ogival windows.
Information and contacts
piazza San Domenico, 3 - 15033 Casale Monferrato (AL)
Telephone: +39 0142 452219